Born in Lisbon in 1950. He starts his career as a producer in 1979 between Paris and Lisbon. Nowadays, he embodies one of the most important figures of independent production in the world. Key player of auteur cinema, he is recognized for having given their first chances to numerous aspiring filmmakers who turned into immense cinematographers, offering them the opportunity to make their screen debut. So far, he has produced over 300 films and has worked with the most renowned film directors in the world such as David Cronenberg, Jerzy Skolimowski, Wim Wenders, Chantal Akerman, Alain Tanner, Werner Schroeter, André Téchiné, Andrzej Zulawski, Christophe Honoré, Olivier Assayas, Sharunas Bartas, Cédric Kahn, Lucas Belvaux, Valéria Bruni-Tedeschi, João César Monteiro, Paul Auster, Philippe Garrel, Mathieu Amalric among many others. His career has particularly been branded with an intense collaboration, during more than 20 years, with Raúl Ruiz (“Time Regained”, “Three Lives and Only One Death”) and with Manoel de Oliveira (“Francisca”, “Abraham’s Valley”, “The Satin Slipper”). Since the very beginning of his career, Paulo Branco has established his presence in the greatest international film festivals. He is also well-known as the producer who has had the greatest number of films selected at Cannes IFF and Venice IFF. Moreover, Paulo Branco is President of the Lisbon & Sintra Film Festival, event that he founded in 2007. He has also received numerous awards and several tributes during his career. The European Parliament in Strasburg awarded him with the title of “Greatest European Producer” in 1997. In 1998, the Republic of Chile decorated him with the Gabriela Mistral Order, the highest distinction of the country. In 2002, the Locarno Film Festival dedicates, for the very first time, the Raimondo Rezzonico to a producer by rewarding Paulo Branco. In 2004, Jacques Chirac gave him recognition as an Officer of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres of the French Republic. In 2014 he was awarded with Cineuropa Prize.

Back to the list

Jury of the festival